Second DUI in Georgia
Are the Penalties for a Second DUI in Georgia More Severe?
In the state of Georgia, lawmakers are particularly harsh on those who have been accused of driving under the influence (DUI). For this reason, the penalties that are imposed on convicted offenders are typically quite severe. Even for a first time-offense, one could expect to face up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine, so you can imagine that the consequences of a second offense are even steeper. It is for this reason that you should enlist the help of a second DUI defense lawyer from the Schneider Law Firm if you or someone you love has been charged as a repeat offender.
Are you facing a second DUI charge in Georgia? Call The Schneider Law Firm today at (912) 385-0854 or contact us online to start your defense!
What are the Penalties for a Second DUI in Georgia?
Second DUI Penalties (Misdemeanor)
- Jail sentence of 3 days to 12 months
- License suspension for up to 3 years
- 30 days of mandatory community service
- Fines between $600 and $1,000
- Installation of ignition interlock device
- Completion of a Risk Reduction Program
Let our Savannah DUI Lawyer Fight for You
As you can see, a second DUI conviction in Georgia could land you in jail and even result in the loss of your driving privileges for a maximum of three years. Until your case goes to trial, however, there is still time to prepare an adequate defense against these charges. For this reason, the dedicated legal team at the Schneider Law Firm encourages you to take action immediately by enlisting the help of a Savannah DUI attorney. Not only will we vigorously defend your rights throughout the criminal trial, but we can fight for the reinstatement of your driver's license at your DMV hearing, as well.
Contact The Schneider Law Firm today for a FREE consultation!