If you are arrested for a DUI, Georgia law requires you to undergo a blood,
breath, or urine test. Like many states, Georgia has an implied consent
law, meaning if you are stopped by an officer who has probable cause to
believe you have been drinking, you automatically consent to taking a
chemical test to determine your BAC.
What if I refuse a test?
Should you refuse to take a chemical test, the officer will relieve you
of your license immediately in exchange for a 30-day permit. Within those
30 days you can request a hearing to challenge the suspension. If you
choose not to request one or lose your hearing, your suspension will last one year.
One month after your suspension begins, however, you can have your license
reinstated if you finish an alcohol and drug-use program.
To challenge your blood test or to retain legal counsel for a license hearing,
call our firm today